GLF Schools

GLF Schools

GLF Schools was founded in 2012 in order to enable the federation of Glyn School (an academy in 2011) and Danetree Junior School. Together, we began our journey to become a MAT of more than 1000 talented staff working with over 10,000 children in 40 schools across 5 regions in southern England.

Governing Body / School Standards Board

School Standards Board


The Vale Primary School is part of GLF Schools, a Multi Academy Trust (MAT) made up of Primary and Secondary schools. The governance structure of the trust has been developed to support both the culture of GLF Schools and the effective management of growing organisation. GLF Schools recognises the individuality of each school and that each school has its own distinct character and culture that is respectful of it community and context. 


The Trust Board is accountable to the Secretary of State for all schools within the MAT and responsible for compliance with government and EFSA requirements, company law and charity law. Whilst the Trust Board will always remain accountable, there is delegation of decision making where appropriate. Further information of GLF governance can be found


Each school within the MAT has a School Standards Board (SSB) to provide the local governance function, to which the Trust Board delegates.


In all schools, governance, should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:


  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  2. Holding leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management, including well-being, of staff.
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent. 


Each SSB has a variable number of members, comprised of: voluntary members of the community, elected parent representatives, the Executive Headteacher, and a member of the GLF central team. The members discharge their duties through: twice termly board meetings, monitoring visits and contributing to other working groups and committees within The Trust. Members also attend training to improve understanding of their role and to keep up to date in the ever-changing educational world.


Chair (Community) Mrs Debbie Matthews
Vice Chair (Community) Mrs Stella Hart -
Co-Headteachers  Mrs Cathy Browne -
Mrs Sarah Leyland -
Community SSB Members Mr Graeme Cobb -
Miss Stella Hart -
Parent SSB Members  Mr Simon Pearce -
Mrs Spindler -
Clerk Mrs Tessa Jones